madaxeman

September 24, 2011

Sometimes it’s right to be wrong…

Filed under: Uncategorized — madaxeman @ 10:33 am

Maybe Twitter is helping to open my eyes, but more and more I find myself questioning the “justice” provided by our Courts. Don’t get me wrong, I think the vast majority of decisions that come from the Courts reflect justice, are well reasoned and considered, but every once in a while a decision comes along that I find I cannot accept…

A good example of this would be the #DaleFarm fiasco. I expect people to abide by the laws of this land, and having been denied planning permission to build more pitches on the site, then on the face of it the travellers should not have done so. That is a pretty black and white issue really – we can’t have people openly flouting the law like this, can we?

However, there is an argument that the #DaleFarm situation has arisen as a direct result of the council failing to provide sufficient pitches in the first place, as indeed they are required to by law. But can the travellers’ reaction to this be justified? Not entirely sure I can answer that one to be honest. The facts of course is that there has been wrongdoing on both sides, and we’re now going to need a judge to sort it all out. That judge is going to have to consider a lengthy, complex case history, have mind for the fact that many of the families the council wants to evict will have children in local schools… It’s a minefield. I hope they make the right decision.

Of course, whatever conclusion they come to, one party or another is going to feel aggrieved, and will be able to point to the decision and say “this is wrong, because…”. Does that mean that they don’t respect the law? I would say not.

In November this year, I will be going to the High Court to watch Paul Chambers attempt to clear his name by showing that Doncaster Crown Court (Yes, our Courts are every bit as crap as our football team…) misapplied the law in the #TwitterJokeTrial. Either we or the Crown Court are going to come away from that hearing triumphant, and there’s a respectable view that says at this point that should the Crown Court win the day, we campaigners should accept the decision and live with it. Personally, should the worse happen, I will have no moral issues at all with saying “The Court is wrong.” I believe what I believe, and the judge is unlikely to change my mind…

But, if I am prepared to to take that stance myself, then can I criticise the travellers at #DaleFarm for continuing their own fight? I don’t believe I can.

Sometimes, as the title for this post suggests, it is absolutely right to be wrong. Nelson Mandela, Ghandi, Aung San Suu Kyi – all of these people were wrong. Wrong people make things right all the time…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

