madaxeman

March 8, 2011

That’s it – we don’t vote…

Filed under: Uncategorized — madaxeman @ 9:55 pm

I can’t believe I am about to say this…
This isn’t an easy thing for me to say, because I do appreciate both the value of my vote and the sacrifices made to get me the vote. I do feel the obligation to respect both, and to do my level best to cast my vote in what I believe to be the interests of the country.

In the forthcoming Local Government elections however, I am going to spoil my vote – and I’d be delighted if you would care to join me… Why? Well, it comes down to two issues really…

First of all, I no longer feel able to support any of the three main political parties. The Conservatives are quietly setting about the destruction of the county, the Liberal Democrats have abandoned everything they ever believed in, and I still find it hard to forgive Labour for the New Labour years of control freakery… None of them, at the moment, are worth of my endorsement. Labour might turn around under Ed Miliband – we’ll have to wait and see…

Secondly, the whole political system in this country has broken down – the recent MP’s expenses scandal was just the last straw. The parties no longer reflect the views of the people at large, and the sad fact is that they’re getting away with it. We need to send a message to the politicians, and I think these local elections give us the chance.

I want this year’s local elections to be discredited – to make a point. I therefore invite you all to simply scrawl “No thanks, you’re not for me…” over the ballot paper. It’s important to use these exact words – because I want lots of these votes, and I want them to be recognised for what they are – a protest. It’s pretty arrogant of me to think that anyone is going to take notice of this blog, which few people have even read, much less commented on – but maybe… Just maybe…

Anyway – when you find yourself in the voting booth, of course you should do whatever you will. Vote or not – it’s up to you – just remember this as an option…

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

